Faith / Family / Inspiration

Favorite Things – January 18, 2014

Tonight I discovered the band Moshav. They hail from Moshav Mevo Modi’im, a community agricultural settlement in Israel.

As I listened to “The Only One”, the opening song on their album Misplaced, I found myself meditating on the prayer Sh’ma Yisrael. The full prayer translates, “Hear Oh Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is One.” This prayer is considered by devout Jews to be the most important prayer.

In the Biblical book of Deuteronomy, chapter six, Moses commands the people of ancient Israel to remember that they are a unique people. Unlike the pagan cultures around them, they are to serve a monotheistic deity.

They depended upon storytelling to pass on culture to the next generation, so Moses declares that it is the responsibility of each parent to share their faith with their children. He says:

Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.

Many years later, religious leaders asked Jesus, “What is the most important command?”

Jesus replied with the instructions of Moses:

“‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” (Matthew 22:37-40)

It is with this sense of urgency, this desire to share God’s love with my children, that I’ve chosen to be home and present in their lives, that we might talk about him as we sit at home and drive along the road and pray to him before we say goodnight. And more than that, I want them to see God’s love in how I treat others in my life. I pray I am able to love generously.

Some days, particularly many days of late, I have been faltering. What am I doing with my life? Does my life matter?

Thank you Moshav Band for reminding me:

Everything is split in two
every place leads back to you
the only one
the only one
love and live and searching for
what’s behind every door
the only one
the only one
and I see the wide silver moon and the slow setting sun
I can see the flower in bloom and the finger on the trigger of the gun

everything is split in two
every place leads back to you
the only one
the only one
love and live and searching for
what’s behind every door
the only one
the only one…

Read more: The Moshav Band – The Only One Lyrics | MetroLyrics

_____

In other news, I keep thinking this thought: “Create every day.”

I am pondering this. I know I want to be a teller of stories – pictures and words. I am drawn to color, light and texture.  I want to nourish others – I want my table to be full of family, friends, laughter and good food.

On that note, I made bolognese sauce for the first time today – oh my, yum.

And, lastly, an employee of Goodie Two Sleeves t-shirt company personalized orders to customers with his clever and humorous artwork. I leave you with laughter.

Leave a Reply

