Faith / Inspiration

Ingrid Michaelson

For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. ROMANS 7:18-19

There are moments when a song reaches out to a deep place in my heart and I just have to sit and listen. Though it’s not a new song, this weekend “Keep Breathing” by Ingrid Michaelson was one such song.

After looking at the lyrics, I was momentarily disappointed. Instead of it being a song of courage in the face of trials as I originally thought, it is a story of a girl who is so overcome by the tragedies around her that she crumples under the pressure and becomes self absorbed.

With further reflection, I think I like that it is not a nice tidy little story of hope and inspiration. The truth is we humans are continually in conflict with our own selfishness. Sometimes we lose the fight.

Confessions are never easy. Giving voice to this conflict between desire and reality is perhaps a song of bravery after all.

Read the lyrics here. Listen here.

 

Leave a Reply

