Family

Mismatched

Confession: I hang Titus’ shirts with a matching pair of shorts in his closet. He gets the independence of picking out an outfit and I get the discretion of making sure his clothes match.

I’ve been realizing that he’s getting old enough to start learning about matching clothing.

Today he paired his own choice of shirt and shorts. He selected this pairing because he thought they both had matching gray.

I see we’ve learned the first lesson on color matching. Next up, a tutorial on mixing patterns.

“Son, we don’t usually mix stripes and plaids,” I gently explained. “What’s a plaid?” he asked.

“Daddy, are you sure these don’t match?” he asked Kenny.

“The matching shorts are now on my head. Problem solved. I repeat, ‘Problem solved.'”

Leave a Reply

