Inspiration

Polvo’s Mexican Restaurant

Polvo’s Mexican Restaurant on South First Street sets my world on fire.

Okay, maybe only my mouth.

Whatever.

Hands down, it’s the best Mexican restaurant out of the many I’ve tried in Texas.

These are a few of my favorite things:

1. Papas Monterrey – Freshly cooked potatoes, sauteed onions and jalapenos topped with Monterrey Jack cheese. This is fiery comfort food I could eat every day for the rest of my life.

2. Chicken Enchiladas with Poblano Cream Sauce (pictured above) – spicy shredded chicken enchiladas smothered with a mild creamy pepper sauce. The refried beans are the best I’ve ever had.

3. Puntas de Filete – beef tips are sauteed with mushrooms and corn. The sauce hints of cream and wine at first taste. However, the slow burn of the chipotle peppers has the last word. I’d like to spoon this dish into Polvo’s handmade tortillas and eat it for as long as we all shall live.

Leave a Reply

