Faith / Family / Inspiration

The First Grader

The first grader tells the story of Kimani Maruge, an 84 year old man who sought an education at the local school in his rural town in Kenya when free education became available to local citizens.

The story of his education and relationship with the students and his teachers is heartwarming and brilliantly acted.

In his youth, Kimani Maruge fought for Kenya’s freedom from the British control and suffered terribly for it. The flashback sequences are quite violent and not appropriate at all for young audiences.

However, I was deeply affected by this portion of the storyline. I’ve often asked myself, “What price am I willing to pay for freedom?”

My own life?

I hope so.

The lives of my children?

The answer to that question is not so easy for me, and it was a choice Maruge was forced to make.

It is a choice our heavenly father chose to make.

MATTHEW 20:28

…the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.

GALATIANS 5:1

It is for freedom that Christ has set us free.

Leave a Reply

